Tag: COVID-19


Get Re-Acquainted with Your Customers’ Needs Post-COVID-19

August 6th, 2020 | Gregor Barry, Managing Director, Accenture Interactive Lead – Canada, Accenture

The COVID-19 pandemic has been a disruptive force like no other, fundamentally changing the world as we know it – and how we interact with it. People are living, thinking and buying differently. Brand marketers must recognize that consumers’ new habits will endure beyond the crisis and permanently reshape their behaviours, values and confidence levels.

Considering the effects of the virus, some people feel anxious and worried – contributing to panic-buying of household staples – while others remain indifferent and even resistant to new health and safety requirements, especially those now mandated by certain cities and shops. Targeting the “consumer in crisis” requires moving from the days of one-size-fits-all marketing to customized and personalized messaging strategies. Brands need to know their customers better than ever before, and how their priorities may shift in the long term.

Read More

Will Canadians Ever Return to Live Events?

July 28th, 2020 | Adam Mitchell, Global Lead, SponsorPulse & Digital Products, IMI International

Over 135 days have passed since the declaration of the global coronavirus pandemic. It was just a few days earlier that the NBA took swift action suspending its season indefinitely due to safety concerns when a player tested positive for COVID-19 – how quickly things evolved from there. Since that time, we’ve witnessed thousands of live entertainment events around the world, and here at home, having no choice other than to postpone, cancel or shut-down permanently, leaving many questioning the future of live entertainment.

As the situation has evolved, discussion in the media around the industry and future fan and consumer behaviour has heated up…

Read More

Creating A New Experience: Experiential Marketing Engagement in a Low-Contact World

June 15th, 2020 | Nicole McCallum, Group Account Director and Abigail St Pierre, Senior Producer, Diamond

Is experiential marketing (XM) dead? We’ve heard this question since the start of this pandemic. From suppliers, vendors and even clients. Admittedly, it’s a fair question. There are no events and people need to stay at least six feet away from each other, so why would they want to be in a crowded public space, let alone get close to strangers. Is this truly the end of experiential marketing?

The Need for Interaction

The answer is a resounding NO! The truth is we have a natural chemical—Oxytocin—hard-wired into our DNA, which makes us crave social contact on many levels. It’s released in our brain during social interaction and contact, increasing happiness and reducing stress. So on a very base level, we need social engagement and, when we’re deprived of it, we begin to crave it.

Now, the challenge is that COVID-19 has made mass attendance at places like malls and music festivals impossible. However…

Read More

Social Distance from Ethnic Consumers at Your Own Risk

June 2nd, 2020 | Howard Lichtman, Partner and Co-Founder, Ethnicity Matters

One-fifth of the Canadian population is foreign-born…

Chinese and South Asian consumers have high purchasing power — but they have different buyer behaviours and attitudes than the general population…

These are points you may have heard before and it’s no different during COVID-19. Yet little has been said or researched about the ethnic consumer as a “recovery” opportunity post COVID-19. We surveyed 900 Canadians — including South Asian and Chinese respondents — to understand their behaviours during COVID-19 and beyond.

Read More

Advertising Effectiveness During the Coronavirus Downturn: The Argument for Staying “On”

May 6th, 2020 | thinktv,

Peter Field, marketing and advertising effectiveness expert, recently joined thinktv for an insightful webinar, during which he made a compelling argument for continuing to advertise during the current crisis.

As part of his ongoing research into advertising effectiveness, Field analyzed the effectiveness of various advertising approaches during the global financial crisis of 2008-09 and shared critical lessons for marketers in the seminal work, Advertising in a Downturn. His most recent paper, Advertising in Recession, Long, Short or Dark? builds on that work to conclude that, although the current crisis is unique, the lessons for marketers from previous downturns still apply. The first lesson: Keep advertising (if you can).

Read More

Managing Uncertainty in the Events Industry

April 29th, 2020 | Francis Dumais, Associate, Elevent

The entertainment industry has been deeply affected by the disruptions cause by the global COVID-19 pandemic, and its repercussions will continue to be felt in the short to medium term.

Thankfully, sponsorship agreements often have cancellation and postponement clauses, but they are rarely used and some could benefit from a little clarification.

Within this context, how can partners agree on the best course of action to minimize the negative consequences of this global crisis? What follows are some topics of discussion to help you analyze your legal obligations and think beyond the contract so you can find solutions that are favourable for all parties involved…

Read More

Étiquette : COVID-19


Adapter la production publicitaire en temps de COVID

22 septembre 2020 | Roma Ahi, vice-présidente à la production, Diamond Marketing Group

Je me trompe ou la vie est un tantinet différente ces temps-ci?

En effet, peu importe l’industrie, chacun et chacune d’entre nous a eu à s’adapter au chaos et à la confusion dans un monde chargé de défis variés liés à la COVID-19. Ceci s’est particulièrement avéré pour notre industrie, car les événements actuels ont transformé notre façon d’aborder chacune des étapes de la production.

À première vue, on pourrait croire que les restrictions en matière de sécurité entourant la COVID permettraient de faire automatiquement des économies importantes…

Read More

Rebranchez-vous sur les besoins de vos consommateurs dans l’après-COVID-19

6 août 2020 | Gregor Barry, directeur général, Accenture Interactif Canada

La pandémie de la COVID-19 s'est révélée déstabilisante au plus haut point. Elle a transformé fondamentalement notre univers et notre façon d’interagir avec le monde. Les gens vivent, pensent et achètent différemment. Les annonceurs doivent reconnaître que les nouvelles habitudes des consommateurs perdureront au-delà de la crise et redéfiniront de manière permanente leurs comportements, leurs valeurs et leur niveau de confiance.

Considérant les effets du virus, certaines personnes se sentent anxieuses et inquiètes (ce qui engendre un mouvement de panique dans l’achat de produits de base pour la maison), tandis que d’autres vivent dans l’indifférence et résistent aux nouvelles exigences en matière de santé et sécurité, particulièrement à celles imposées par certaines villes ou certains commerçants. Le ciblage de « consommateurs en crise » exige de s’éloigner du marketing universel pour adopter des stratégies sur mesure et personnalisées. Les annonceurs doivent mieux que jamais auparavant connaître leurs consommateurs et comprendre comment leurs priorités pourraient changer à long terme.

Read More

Les Canadiens assisteront-ils de nouveau à des événements en direct?

28 juillet 2020 | Adam Mitchell, directeur mondial, SponsorPulse et Produits numériques, IMI International

Plus de 135 jours se sont écoulés depuis la déclaration de la pandémie mondiale de coronavirus. Quelques jours avant, la NBA avait déjà suspendu sa saison indéfiniment pour des raisons de sécurité après qu’un joueur ait obtenu un résultat positif à la COVID-19. Puis, ce fut la dégringolade. Depuis ce jour, nous avons été témoins de milliers d’événements en direct à travers le monde, et ici, juste à côté de chez nous, qui n’ont eu d’autre choix que de reporter, annuler ou arrêter complètement leurs activités, laissant plusieurs questions en suspens quant à l’avenir du divertissement en direct.

À mesure que la situation évoluait, les discussions dans les médias et l’industrie ainsi que le comportement des adeptes et des consommateurs se sont intensifiés…

Read More

Marketing expérientiel : susciter l’engagement sans contact

15 juin 2020 | Nicole McCallum, directrice de comptes et Abigail St Pierre, productrice principale, Diamond

Faut-il faire une croix sur le marketing expérientiel? Cette question, les fournisseurs, les vendeurs et même des clients se la posent depuis le début de la pandémie, et avec raison. Il n’y a aucun événement et les gens doivent rester à six pieds d’écart, donc pourquoi voudraient-ils se retrouver, à proximité d’étrangers, dans un espace public bondé? Est-ce vraiment la fin du marketing expérientiel?

Le besoin d’interaction

La réponse est un NON catégorique! La réalité veut que notre ADN soit chargé d’ocytocine, une substance chimique naturelle qui réveille chez l’humain une soif de contacts sociaux sur plusieurs plans. Cette substance envahit notre cerveau lors d’interaction et de contacts sociaux et nous rend plus heureux tout en réduisant le stress. Donc, à la base, nous avons besoin d’être socialement engagés et, lorsqu’on en est privés, ce besoin se fait impérieux.

Maintenant, le défi amené par la COVID-19 porte sur l’interdiction de se rassembler dans les centres commerciaux et les festivals de musique, entre autres endroits. Toutefois…

Read More

Distancez-vous des consommateurs issus des communautés culturelles à vos risques

2 juin 2020 | Howard Lichtman, associé et cofondateur, Ethnicity Matters

Quelques faits à considérer : un cinquième de la population canadienne est né à l’étranger; les consommateurs d’origines chinoise et sud-asiatiques disposent d’un important pouvoir d’achat – mais leurs habitudes et comportements diffèrent de ceux de l’ensemble de la population…

Il n’y a rien de nouveau là-dedans, et la pandémie actuelle ne change rien à cette réalité. Or, on peu parlé ou effectué de recherche sur les consommateurs d’origines ethniques en tant « qu’occasions d’affaires » post COVID-19. Voilà pourquoi nous avons décidé de sonder quelque 900 Canadiens, dont plusieurs d’origines chinoise et sud-asiatique, afin de comprendre leur comportement pendant la COVID-19 et après.

Read More

Efficacité publicitaire durant la récession due à la COVID-19 : Les arguments en faveur du maintien des campagnes

6 mai 2020 | thinktv,

L’expert en marketing et en efficacité de la publicité, Peter Field, a récemment présenté un webinaire à thinktv, au cours duquel il a soumis des arguments convaincants en faveur de continuer d’annoncer pendant la crise actuelle.

Dans le cadre de ses recherches sur l’efficacité de la publicité, M. Field a analysé les résultats obtenus par diverses approches publicitaires durant la crise financière de 2008-2009 et a publié les leçons que devaient en tirer les annonceurs dans un ouvrage incontournable : Advertising in a Downturn. Sa plus récente publication, Advertising in Recession, Long, Short or Dark? s’en inspire et conclut que, même si la crise actuelle est unique, les leçons des récessions précédentes restent valides. La leçon principale : Continuer d’annoncer (autant que possible)

Read More